If you have been charged with a crime in DeLand, Deltona, Daytona Beach, or other area of Volusia County and are seeking honest, dedicated, and aggressive legal representation, contact the criminal defense attorneys at the Law Office of Leanna J. Smith. If you’re in trouble, we want to help.
Under Florida Statute 562.111, “Possession of Alcohol by a Minor” is defined as a person under the age of 21 who is found to have in his or her possession alcoholic beverages, including commercial beverages or mixed drinks.
Commercial Beverages: considered any drink in which the container is labeled as beer, ale, malt liquor, malt beverage, wine, or distilled spirits.
Mixed Drinks: considered any distilled spirit or beverage containing ½ of 1% or more alcohol by volume.
Penalty: the penalty for possession of alcohol by a minor is dependent upon the number of offenses that have been committed.
Under Florida Statute 796.07(1)(a), “Prostitution” is defined as giving or receiving of the body for sexual activity for hire.
Under Florida Statute 796.07(2)(a, b, c, d, e, g, h, i) it is unlawful to:
Penalty: the penalties for prostitution are dependent upon the number of violations that have been committed.
Under Florida Statute 796.07(2)(f), “Solicitation of Prostitution” is defined as soliciting, inducing, enticing, or procuring another person to commit prostitution, lewdness, or assignation.
Penalty: the penalties for the solicitation of prostitution are dependent upon the number of violations that have been committed.
* Any person found violating the Solicitation of Prostitution statute that uses a vehicle in the course of the violation may also face impoundment or immobilization of the vehicle for a period of up to 60 days.
Under Florida Statute 806.01, “Arson” is defined as any person who willfully and unlawfully damages a dwelling or structure as a result of fire or explosion.
First Degree Arson: Arson is considered First Degree Arson in Florida if one of the following three criteria are met:
Penalty: The penalty for first degree arson is up to 30 years imprisonment and up to $10,000 in fines
Second Degree Arson: Arson is considered Second Degree Arson in Florida if damage is caused to a structure by fire or explosion, whether the property belongs to the arsonist or another person, under any circumstances other than those outlined under First Degree Arson.
Penalty: The penalty for second degree is up to 15 years imprisonment and up to $10,000 in fines.
A structure is defined as any building with an enclosed roof over it, including any real property such as any tent, portable building, vehicle, vessel, watercraft, or aircraft.
Under Florida Statute 806.13, “Criminal Mischief” is defined as willfully and maliciously damaging by any means any real or personal property of another person, including, but not limited to, the placement of graffiti or other acts of vandalism.
Penalty: the penalty for criminal mischief is dependent upon the cost of property damage that was caused.
Under Florida Statute 856.011, “Disorderly Intoxication” is defined as being intoxicated and endangering the safety of another person or property, or causing a public disturbance while drinking or being intoxicated in public.
Penalty: disorderly intoxication is considered a misdemeanor of the second degree, which is punishable by up to 60 days in jail and up to $500 in fines.
Under Florida Statute 856.021, “Loitering or Prowling” is defined as loitering or prowling in a place, at a time or in a manner that is unusual for a law-abiding individual, under circumstances that warrant a justifiable and reasonable alarm or immediate concern for the safety of persons or property in the vicinity.
Penalty: loitering or prowling in the state of Florida is considered a misdemeanor of the second degree, which is punishable by up to 60 days in jail and up to $500 in fines.
Under Florida Statute 877.03, “Disorderly Conduct” is defined as committing acts to corrupt public morals, outrage the sense of public decency, affect the peace and quiet of those who may witness such acts; or engaging in brawling, fighting, or other conduct that breaches peace.
Penalty: disorderly conduct is considered a misdemeanor of the second degree, which is punishable by up to 60 days in jail and up to $500 in fines.
Contact the Law Office of Leanna J. SmithWhen you need an honest, dedicated criminal defense attorney to defend you against criminal charges in DeLand, Daytona Beach, Deltona, or surrounding Volusia County, contact the Law Office of Leanna J. Smith. If you’re in trouble, we want to help.